Kasese FDC leadership releases names of members who recently returned expression of interest forms


The Kasese District Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) leadership has officially released a list of names of the party members who recently returned the filled expression of interest forms for the various elective positions with Bukonzo County East having the biggest number of competitors on the parliamentary seat.

Early this month, FDC completed the exercise of identifying its members who have interests in vying for the different political positions so that they are subjected to vetting and potential flag bearers identified ahead of the 2026 General Elections.

While addressing the press at the party branch offices in Kasese town, Mr. Ronald Bwambale Kabuku, the District FDC Chairperson explained that the two- month long exercise that ended on March 05, 2024 attracted a total of 716 people across the district.

In Bukonzo County East, 10 people including incumbent MP Harold Tony Muhindo, Mr. Misairi Thembo Kahungu, Mr. Neckson Baluku Mbayahi, Mr. Augustine Masereka Musema, Mr. Selevest Masereka Caritas, Mr. Zaiya Kisembo, Mr. Zenno Masereka, Mr. Ericana Baluku Ndyoka and Mr. John Muhindo Kigere officially declared their interests in the parliamentary seat.

For the District Woman parliamentary seat, only two people picked and returned the expression of interest forms. They include the incumbent legislator, Hon. Florence Kabugho and Hon. Rita Biira, the current District Woman Councilor representing Kisinga Town Council and Kisinga Sub-county.  

In Bukonzo County West, six people including incumbent MP, Godfrey Atkins Katusabe, Mr. Patrick Muhindo Kyamanduma, Mr. Martin Masereka Balitebya, Mr. Benon Muhindo Zaake, Mr. Timothy Balikenga and Mr. Dezile Buliko Mawa successfully returned their filled expression of interest forms for the parliamentary seat.

For the Kasese Municipality parliamentary seat, four people including former legislator, Robert Franco Centenary, Mr. Nelson Baluku, Mr. Joseph Mafunguro and Mr. Kenneth Kabagambe will be compelled to a vetting exercise to choose the flag bearer.

In Busongora County South, Mr. Aloysius Baguma Kighema and Mr. Sedrack Mbaju Bakulirahi will face each other in the vetting exercise.

In Busongora County North, only former legislator, William Musabe Nzoghu expressed interest in the parliamentary seat.

The District Chairpersonship position attracted two people including former District Boss, Geoffrey Sibendire Thembo Bigogo and the current Maliba Town Council L. C III Chairperson, Mr. Abdul Saad.

For the Kasese Municipality Mayoral seat, the incumbent Mayor, Mr. Chance Kahindo and former Nyamwamba Division Chairperson, Mr. Saidi Muhindo Kisuki expressed their interests.

Asked about the fate of Mr. Selevest Masereka Mapoze, the current L. C III Chairperson for Mpondwe –Lhubiriha Town Council, Mr. Kabuku revealed that the Town Council Boss declared his interest to retire from active politics and Mr. Martin Safari, the current L. C III Chairperson for the Central Division in Kasese Municipality declared his interest to replace him.



  • Kyetunda kule Micah from Maliba March 15, 2024

    I appreciate their efforts to show interest in political positions but I would love those that have served for at least two terms to let others come in and test leadership

  • Bro Max Elma March 15, 2024

    Thanks for updates.

    I suspect many independent candidates in these coming elections.

  • Bwambale Reagan March 16, 2024

    Success to all our candidates

  • Biraghiro Robert March 27, 2024

    Wish you well comrades towards the struggle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *